PAK vs NZ: Pakistan Make history, become 3rd team to join elite club of 500 wins with India and Australia

Babar Azam in action

The first match of the five-match ODI series between Pakistan and New Zealand was played at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium on Thursday. In this match, Pakistan defeated New Zealand by 5 wickets. The team led by Babar Azam created history by registering a victory. Pakistan joined the elite club along with India and Australia and became the third team to register a special feat.

Pakistan created history by registering their 500th win in ODIs. Pakistan has won 500 ODIs out of 949 matches played and lost 420 times. Earlier only Australia and India had crossed the 500 mark of winning ODIs.

teams matches matches played in win the match lost lost the match
Australia 978 594 341
India 1029 539 438
Pakistan 949 500 420

Pakistan vs New Zealand, 1st ODI:

Talking about the first ODI match played between Pakistan and New Zealand, Pakistan captain Babar Azam decided to bowl after winning the toss. New Zealand scored 288/7 in 50 overs. Chasing the target in the second innings, Pakistan achieved the target by scoring 291 runs at the loss of 5 wickets in just 48.3 overs. Fakhar Zaman played an important role in Pakistan’s victory. He played an inning of 117 runs in 114 balls. During this, he hit 13 fours and a six.

full squad

Pakistan: Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam (c), Shan Masood, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Agha Salman, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf, Abdullah Shafiq, Haris Sohail. Mohammad Wasim Jr, Usama Mir, Ihsanullah

New Zealand: Chad Bowes, Will Young, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham (c & wk), Mark Chapman, Henry Nicholls, Rachin Ravindra, Adam Milne, Ish Sodhi, Matt Henry, Blair Tickner, James Neesham, Henry Shipley, Ben Lister , Tom Blundell, Cole McConchie.