RCB vs CSK: Royal Challengers Bangalore suffer loss in high-voltage match

csk vs rcb

The 24th match of IPL 2023 was played between Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore at the Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru. In the match, RCB captain Faf du Plessis won the toss and decided to bowl first. Batting first, Chennai batsmen gave RCB a target of 227 runs to win, which RCB could not chase and lost the match by 8 runs.

RCB’s star batsman Virat Kohli got out after scoring just 6 runs. He was followed by Mahipal Lomror. With 2 wickets down, RCB skipper Faf du Plessis and Glenn Maxwell stabilized the innings and smashed boundaries across the ground. Faf du Plessis scored 62 and Maxwell was dismissed for 76. RCB’s batting disintegrated after the dismissal of both of these players. Dinesh Karthik contributed 28 runs and Impact player Suyash Prabhudesai contributed 19 runs. On the other hand, Shahbaz Ahmed could score only 12 runs.

Tushar Deshpande of Chennai Super Kings took 3 wickets. Akash Singh dismissed Virat Kohli. Matisha Pathirana took 2 wickets and Moeen Ali got one wicket.

RCB’s team needed 18 runs in the last over. Matisha Pathirana bowled an impressive over as he conceded 10 runs in the over and also got the wicket of Suyash Prabhudesai in the last ball.

The start of the Chennai Super Kings team was not good. When Ruturaj Gaikwad returned to the pavilion after scoring just 3 runs. After this, Devon Conway and Ajinkya Rahane registered a good partnership. Rahane was dismissed after scoring 37 runs off 20 balls. Then Shivam Dubey played an inning of 52 runs in 27 balls. Devon Conway could not complete his century but scored 83 off 45 balls. Ambati Rayudu contributed 14 runs. All the batsmen took CSK to a total of 226 runs.

RCB Playing XI: Virat Kohli, Faf du Plessis (c), Mahipal Lomror, Glenn Maxwell, Shahbaz Ahmed, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Harshal Patel, Wanindu Hasaranga, Wayne Parnell, Vijaykumar Vaishak, Mohammad Siraj

CSK Playing XI: Devon Conway, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ajinkya Rahane, Shivam Dube, Ambati Rayudu, Moeen Ali, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Mahesh Thikshana, Tushar Deshpande, Mathisha Pathirana.