Updated Points Table, Orange Cap, Purple Cap List in IPL 2023 after GT vs RR game

ipl, ipl 2023, mi vs kkr

The 16th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) brought another double-header weekend to an end on Sunday. Things are starting to heat up on the points table after 23 matches as the tournament nears the completion of its first half. Mumbai Indians defeated Kolkata Knight Riders for the 23rd time on Sunday while Rajasthan Royals avenged their loss against Gujarat Titans in the IPL 2022 final. Venkatesh Iyer scored a brilliant hundred to break a 15-year drought at KKR, while Sanju Samson and Shimron Hetmyer starred in RR’s thrilling win over the defending champions.

Royals are currently sitting on top of the points table having won four out of five matches so far, while Lucknow Super Giants follow them with three wins and a better NRR. Gujarat Titans and Punjab Kings complete the top four line-ups in the points table with three wins each so far. Kolkata Knight Riders would look to lose to MI as they had chances to climb into the foursome. Instead, they are stuck at the fifth spot and will drop further after the game between CSK and RCB on Monday.

CSK and RCB are sixth and seventh respectively with two wins each from four matches, while MI and SRH are also gathering momentum after starting slowly. Delhi Capitals is the only team that has not won even after five matches.

ipl points table 2023

Here is the latest score sheet:

    1. Rajasthan Royals – 5 (Matches), 4 (Won), 1.354 (Net Run Rate)


    1. Lucknow Super Giants – 5 (Match), 3 (W), 0.761 (Net Run Rate)


    1. Gujarat Titans – 5 (Match), 3 (W), 0.192 (Net Run Rate)


    1. Punjab Kings – 5 (Matches), 3 (Won), -0.109 (Net Run Rate)


    1. Kolkata Knight Riders – 5 (Match), 2 (Won), 0.320 (Net Run Rate)


    1. Chennai Super Kings – 4 (Match), 2 (Won), 0.225 (Net Run Rate)


    1. Royal Challengers Bangalore – 4 (Match), 2 (Won), -0.316 (Net Run Rate)


    1. Mumbai Indians – 4 (Match), 2 (Won), -0.389 (Net Run Rate)


    1. Sunrisers Hyderabad – 4 (Match), 2 (Won), -0.822 (Net Run Rate)


    1. Delhi Capitals – 5 (Matches), 5 (Won), -1.488 (Net Run Rate)


Who has the Orange Cap?

Venkatesh Iyer of KKR won the Orange Cap by scoring a brilliant century in 51 balls, defeating Shikhar Dhawan by just 1 run. He has so far scored 234 runs in five innings at an average of close to 47 and a strike rate of 170.80. Dhawan has played a game less and has scored 233 runs in four matches at an average of 116.50 and a strike rate of around 147. He is in fifth place with 214 runs in four matches scoring three half-centuries.

Who has the Purple Cap?

Yuzvendra Chahal leveled Mark Wood in the GT vs RR game and has taken 11 wickets in five matches so far and currently holds the Purple Cap. Wood also has 11 wickets in four matches. Rashid Khan is also tied with the top two bowlers. GT’s Mohammed Shami returned with figures of 3/25 from his four overs against RR to climb to the fourth spot in the list. Ravi Bishnoi of LSG has also taken 8 wickets with his leg spin so far.

IPL Orange Cap and Purple Cap Holder

IPL 2023 Orange Cap Holders (Top Scorers):

    1. Venkatesh Iyer of KKR – 234 runs (5 matches)


    1. Shikhar Dhawan of DC – 233 runs (4 matches)


    1. GT’s Shubman Gill – 228 runs (5 matches)


    1. David Warner of DC – 228 runs (5 matches)


    1. Virat Kohli of RCB – 214 runs (4 matches)


IPL 2023 Purple Cap Holders (Top Wicket Takers):

    1. Yuzvendra Chahal of Rajasthan – 11 wickets (5 matches)


    1. Mark Wood of LSG – 11 wickets (4 matches)


    1. GT’s Rashid Khan – 11 wickets (5 matches)


    1. GT’s Mohammed Shami – 10 wickets (4 matches)


    1. Ravi Bishnoi of LSG – 8 wickets (5 matches)